top of page

My Top Ten Christian Rock Bands


Christian Rock as I said in a previous blog post, had quite a rocky start. Not a lot of people agreed with the idea of having Christian Rock music. However, we have seen in the Bible and in our own lives, God can take something that starts terribly or unGodly and turn into something good and potentially something great. That is what has happened with Christian Rock music my friends! And I could not be happier about it, because Rock music is my all time favorite genre. When I'm feeling down, I listen to Rock music. I know it is not the same for everyone, but Rock music is so empowering to me.

So with that being said, here are my Top Ten Christian Rock Bands! Enjoy and share with friends that you know have never heard about these powerhouse bands before, believe me they are worth the listen.

(NOTE: This is including Rock music subgenres: such as screamo and metal)

10. Blessed By A Broken Heart

Blessed By A Broken Heart is basically an 80's band that was transported to modern day America and it's great! Their music is filled with awesome harmonizing vocals, guitar shredding, and sweet anthem and ballad tunes. Blessed By A Broken Heart is not a distinctly Christian band, but they are signed with Tooth & Nail Records and they stated they wanted to reach people who weren't already Christians which garnered them a lot of Stryper comparisons. Their song, "Skate or Die" or "Forever" in my opinion showcases this band at their best. Definitely give them a listen if you enjoy guitar solos, powerful vocals, and cowbells on the drums!

9. Project 86

It was a few years back when I first started listening to Project 86 and I've been a fan ever since. Their vocals are very compelling and so is their instrumentation. Also a cool thing about Project 86 is their song titles with song names such as, "Knives To The Future", "Fall, Goliath, Fall", "The Crossfire Gambit", "Spy Hunter", and "Off The Grid".

8. For Today

It is time to BREAK THE CYCLE! Definitely my 2nd favorite Screamo band and their songs are seriously epic especially "Crown Of Thorns". Believe me when you hear this track you won't get "It should've been me" out of your head! ;)

7. We As Human

We As Human is a Christian Rock band who have a similar sound to Skillet. I prefer them a little bit more because I saw them live in concert. ;)

My sister, Lindsay, and I with We As Human at Sonfest 2012 in Mount Vernon, Ohio.

6. Demon Hunter

Well here it is, my favorite Screamo band of all time. Try getting "Lead Us Home" out of your head now. Such a great band, they are sadly disbanded now but not without leaving us with loads of epic songs such as "Follow The Wolves", "Dead Flowers", "Thorns", and more!

5. I Am Empire

Nothing gets better than the vocals from I Am Empire. I love this band, sadly they aren't active anymore although they haven't officially disbanded. So there is still hope. "Saints & Sinners" and "Foxhole" are my favorite tracks from this Rock band.

4. RED

RED again is a very popular band and they continue to do well in the Christian music industry today. What I love about RED is their showmanship, they are just so entertaining and their music videos are like legit movies! They are a great band with great Rock anthems that any Rock fan would enjoy.

3. House of Heroes

House of Heroes is a band that I never get tired of. Their songs are interesting with well written lyrics and also very cool titles for their songs including titles such as, "The Worst Kind of Gods", "God Save The Foolish Kings", "In The Valley of The Dying Sun", "Codename: Raven", "Angels In Top Hats", "Remember The Empire", and "Choose Your Blade". All those songs I listed are really great songs and definitely worth checking out.

2. Switchfoot

Okay, I'm going to give away my age on this one, but who cares when I was younger this was the reason I loved Switchfoot. Switchfoot came out with their first album, "Legend Of The Chin" in 1997 the year I was born. It has always felt like destiny for me to like them. Anyways, they have great vocals with Jon Foreman leading them since formation and also unique instrumentation. I would definitely label Switchfoot as musical geniuses.

1. Anberlin

The band that will probably always take the cake for me is Anberlin! Great instrumentation and definitely my favorite lead singer of all time with Stephen Christian's unique sound. Believe me when you hear Anberlin you will know it is them. They have amazing and stunning lyrics that match with great tunes and catchy hooks. Sadly Anberlin disbanded last year, but Stephen Christian is still active with Anchor & Braille so at least we can still hear that epic voice of his.

Honorable mentions to:

7th Time Down

Skillet

Spoken

Glasslands

Wolves At The Gate

Disciple

Sent By Ravens

Relient K

Showbread

(I think it is safe to say that I have a lot of great Christian Rock bands that I enjoy, but I encourage you to check them all out if you can and if you like Rock music.)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page