top of page

What Is It Like To Be A "Missionary Kid"?

Such a loaded question and yet I am asked it all the time. Now I know I explained I don't like the term missionary kid and that is why I put it in quotation marks, because those aren't my own words. Anyways, I'm never really certain how to answer that question. I could give you a flowery answer and tell you it is great, I meet so many amazing people and I grew up in an awesome country and that I've gained so much life experience from how I grew up. Those are all true answers, but really only half of the answer. Being a missionary is difficult. Never have I realized that more then when I said good-bye to my older sister, Lindsay, who now lives in America and is attending Mount Vernon Nazarene University. Saying good-bye to family is the hardest part about being a missionary. But there are other things that make it especially difficult for a "missionary kid". To be put on a pedestal can be nice for your self-esteem at times, but it can

also put you under extreme pressure, which is hard to handle. I remember having a conversation with another missionary kid and she just wanted to say to everyone,

"Just because I'm a missionary kid doesn't mean I'm perfect!"

I felt the exact same way. But even in the midst of all this I have realized that God is the one that helps me be the role model I need to be and He helps me control my feelings when I feel like I can't take it

anymore. Being a missionary is difficult, but it isn't impossible, as we all know with God all things are possible.

Above is Alyssa with her older sister, Lindsay.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page